Kpop Chronicles: Red Velvet’s 3rd Mini Album– Russian Roulette (러시안 룰렛)

Just three days ago (Sep 6, 2016) Red Velvet released their newest mini album, in addition to their 2nd mini album, The Velvet, released back in March of this year. The title of the album, Russian Roulette which also was the title of the main track was also released with an accompanying video on the day.

red-velvet

I chose not to post this review/overview of the album for a few days so I could allow myself to gather my thoughts and views on it first. And over the last few days I have been listening to the tracks off an on and I have to say that personally, along with the 2nd mini album released this year, 2016 has been a very strong year for Red velvet and it seems everyone in the group is working so hard for their careers and their fans. There are many tracks I loved and am happy to say are going to be some of my favourite songs of this upcoming spring season! In order of most liked to least, here are all the tracks on the album:

  1. Sunny Afternoon
  2. Bad Dracula
  3. 러시안 룰렛 (Russian Roulette)
  4. Lucky Girl
  5. Fool
  6. My Dear
  7. Some Love

This mini album has a fresh and upbeat theme that we have seen time and time before with Red Velvet. A little kooky, very clean and quite original! Unfortunately this year so far hasn’t been very strong for the pre-established groups in kpop. But this album is definitely an exception! It has a really nice beat and theme throughout which makes all the tracks flow together nicely and not to mention the vocals are really lovely this time around, especially Wendy and Joy’s vocals. Personally, I thought they both really shone through with this album which I am very happy about! Red velvet has always done a really great job at not excluding members from songs and incorporating every member’s talents and this album is no deviation from the rule! My favourite is the fact that they sing most of the choruses together as a group and all of their voices compliment so nicely, it is heaven!

9c94e00056c169c40adb30a841c3521d

I also want to touch very briefly on Russian Roulette’s MV. Once again, red velvet doesn’t disappoint. I really love the concept, colour scheme and over all “kooky-cute” theme of the video! It is so refreshing not having hugely aggressive dances or overly-sexualised visuals. But instead something fresh, engaging as a story and very enjoyable.

red-velvet-rr

If you haven’t already watch the MV or supported Red Velvet by purchasing or streaming their new album I would highly suggest doing so! It is a strong return of some amazing vocals with a great upbeat and “unusual” feel. I can’t wait for more of RV, I would highly encourage following the group, because with two strong mini album comebacks this year, I don’t suspect that they’ll be going anywhere!!

-Bri

Links to content mention in this post:

red_velvet___russian_roulette_by_jaeyeons-dagwewa

Link to Red Velvet’s 3rd Mini Album– Russian Roulette (러시안 룰렛)

Link to Red Velvet’s Russian Roulette (러시안 룰렛) MV

 

Leave a Reply

